Cricket network logo

Kerr bowls way into BBL Team of Tournament

24 January 2022

Sydney Sixers' revelation Hayden Kerr has bowled his way into the official KFC BBL|11 Team of the Tournament just a season after being unable to force his way into the Sixers' line up for a single match.

Left-armer Kerr has enjoyed a breakout season for the Sixers, with his 24 wickets at 13.45 apiece the best bowling average for any player with 15 or more wickets. 

Kerr was one of four Sixers players named in the prestigious merit team of 13, with opener Josh Philippe and skipper Moises Henriques joining Kerr in the starting 11, while Sean Abbott was named as an X-Factor player.

KFC BBL|10 Player of the Tournament Philippe has had another outstanding season, plundering 429 runs and claiming 17 dismissals so far.

The Team of the Tournament announcement comes just two days before the Sixers return to their home at the SCG to play in front of a booming home crowd in the Qualifier, where a win will set up a shot at a three-peat of BBL titles in Friday night's Final against the Perth Scorchers.

Their opponents on Wednesday night, the Adelaide Strikers, had three players named in the Team of the Tournament side that was selected by the League's eight head coaches - allrounder Matt Short, departed spin-star Rashid Khan and captain Peter Siddle.

Tickets for the blockbuster Qualifier are on sale today via Ticketek and Kerr said the Sixers were hoping a big crowd could help them over the line.

Meanwhile, injured Sixers’ batter Daniel Hughes is working around the clock with physiotherapist Danny Redrup in a bid to recover from a left ankle lateral ligament injury suffered in the warm up for the Sixers' first finals match in Melbourne on Saturday night. 


KFC BBL|11 Team of the Tournament
Number Player Club Votes
1 Ben McDermott Hobart Hurricanes 8
2 Josh Philippe (wicket-keeper) Sydney Sixers 8
3 Joe Clarke Melbourne Stars 5
4 Mitchell Marsh Perth Scorchers 7
5 Matt Short Adelaide Strikers 6
6 Moises Henriques Sydney Sixers 6
7 Daniel Sams Sydney Thunder 8
8 Rashid Khan Adelaide Strikers 7
9 Hayden Kerr Sydney Sixers 6
10 Andrew Tye Perth Scorchers 5
11 Peter Siddle (captain) Adelaide Strikers 8
X-Factor Sean Abbott Sydney Sixers 4
X-Factor Jason Sangha Sydney Thunder 3