Cricket network logo

Clara Iemma rounds out Sixers WBBL roster

29 November 2017

The Sixers have finalised their WBBL roster with the announcement of Clara Iemma as the final contract for the season.

Iemma, the daughter of former NSW Premier Morris Iemma, has joined the Club in her first season in the WBBL after being contracted by the ACT Meteors this WNCL season.

The former NSW Metro’s Under 18’s representative player rounds out a formidable squad less than two weeks out from the start of the third season.

Head Coach Ben Sawyer said he was happy to have Iemma join the Sixers.

“Clara Iemma is an exciting young player and we are pleased that she has agreed to join our club for WBBL|03,” he said.

“Last season, Clara was named as player of the tournament at the U18 Australian Championships and recently signed with the ACT WNCL team. I am looking forward to working with Clara and seeing where she can take her T20 game.”

Iemma will also get to call her local ground home during the WBBL with the Sixers set to play three matches at Hurstville Oval.

After the success of last year’s fixtures at the ground the Sixers will be taking matches on the 19th, 27th and 28th of January to the Oval.

This includes a big community day on January 27, where kids will eat for free and all the Big Bash fun will roll out at the ground including the Sixers inflatable slide, music, food vans and other activities to keep the whole family entertained.

Sixers General Manager Dominic Remond said that the match would be a great opportunity to see a big crowd head down to the picturesque ground.

“Hurstville Oval is a fantastic venue for WBBL and we have a great track record there,” said Dom Remond.

“The community can get up close and personal with the players and enjoy watching from the stand, the grass hill or under the trees. It’s a beautiful setting for a perfect family afternoon out.”

The Sixers start their campaign on Saturday, December 9 at North Sydney Oval against the Melbourne Stars before backing up on Sunday, December 10 against the Sydney Thunder.

WBBL|03 squad: Ellyse Perry ©, Sarah Aley, Erin Burns, Lauren Cheatle, Ash Gardner, Alyssa Healy, Jodie Hicks, Clara Iemma, Marizanne Kapp, Carly Leeson, Emily Leys, Sara McGlashan, Ange Reakes, Lauren Smith, Dane Van Niekerk.