Cricket network logo

Burns named in Australian ‘A’ T20 squad

22 November 2019

Sydney Sixers all-rounder Erin Burns has been named in the Australia ‘A’ T20 squad to face India A on the Gold Coast from 19-23 December.

The tour, which will preceded by a three-game 50 over a side series, is a key step in Cricket Australia’s expanded female pathway program and part of a four-year agreement with India that has already seen Australia’s A Team tour the sub-continent late last year. It will also be the first time Australia has hosted an international women’s ‘A’ team.
Burns made her Australian ODI and T20 debuts earlier in 2019 after more than a decade at the senior domestic level and remains a key member of the Sixers drive towards a fifth straight WBBL final.

Her recent form in the field has been a highlight of WBBL|05.

The veteran will be joined in the squad by Sixers coaches Ben Sawyer and Leah Poulton.

Australia A T20 Squad
Maitlan Brown, ACT/Melbourne Renegades
Erin Burns, NSW/Sydney Sixers
Josie Dooley, QLD/Melbourne Renegades
Heather Graham, WA/Perth Scorchers 
Phoebe Litchfield, NSW/Sydney Thunder
Tahlia McGrath (c), SA/Adelaide Strikers
Bridget Patterson, SA/Adelaide Strikers
Sammy Jo Johnson, QLD/Brisbane Heat
Molly Strano, VIC/Melbourne Renegades
Annabel Sutherland, VIC/Melbourne Stars
Belinda Vakarewa, TAS/Hobart Hurricanes
Elyse Villani, VIC/Melbourne Stars
Amanda-Jade Wellington, SA/Adelaide Strikers

Coach: Leah Poulton
Assistant Coaches: Dan Marsh, Shelley Nitschke, Ben Sawyer

19 December: 1st T20, Australia A v India A, Bill Pippen Oval, Gold Coast
21 December: 2nd T20, Australia A v India A, Bill Pippen Oval, Gold Coast
23 December: 3rd T20, Australia A v India A, Bill Pippen Oval, Gold Coast