Cricket network logo

Hearne and nine Sixers receive Blues contracts

25 June 2020

Lachlan Hearne batting during an ICC Under 19 World Cup warm-up match in January.

Sixers Academy batsman Lachlan Hearne joined nine Sixers on the NSW Blues 2020/21 contract list released on Thursday.

Hearne joined fellow Australian Under 19 player, leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha on the rookie list. Both teenagers represented Australia at the Male ICC Under 19 World Cup, in South Africa, during January and February.

Steve Smith, Nathan Lyon and Josh Hazlewood headlined the nine Sixers to receive a Blues contract. They joined Sixers captain Moises Henriques, fast bowlers Sean Abbott, Ben Dwarshuis, Mickey Edwards and his brother Jack, and batsman Daniel Hughes.

Left-handed opener Hughes is the reigning Steve Waugh Medallist as the NSW Male Player of the Season. He scored more than 1,000 runs across both the Marsh Sheffield Shield and One-Day Cup competitions last season.

Experienced fast bowler Chris Tremain joined Australian One-Day and T20 leg-spinner Adam Zampa as new recruits in the Blues squad.

NSW Blues 2020/21 squad

CA Contracted

Pat Cummins

Josh Hazlewood

Nathan Lyon

Steve Smith

Mitchell Starc

David Warner

Adam Zampa

State Contracted

Sean Abbott

Harry Conway

Trent Copeland

Ben Dwarshuis

Jack Edwards

Mickey Edwards

Matthew Gilkes

Ryan Hackney

Liam Hatcher

Moises Henriques

Daniel Hughes

Nick Larkin

Nathan McAndrew

Peter Nevill

Kurtis Patterson

Daniel Sams

Jason Sangha

Daniel Solway

Chris Tremain

Rookie Contracted

Oliver Davies

Ryan Hadley

Baxter Holt

Arjun Nair

Lachlan Hearne

Tanveer Sangha