Cricket network logo

Sixers are BBL|09 Champions

08 February 2020

The Sydney Sixers have won the Big Bash League title for the second time after defeating the Melbourne Stars by 19 runs at the SCG in a rain-shortened Final on Saturday night.

BBL|09 FINAL - Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne Stars - Match Highlights

After the SCG ground staff did an outstanding job getting the pitch ready given the wet weather, the Sixers successfully defended 5/116 from their 12 overs with the Stars 6/97 in reply.

The Sixers first title came in BBL|01.

The sweet hitting of Player of the Final Josh Philippe with his fifth half-century of the season was pivotal.

Philippe finished with 52 from 29 balls, including three sixes. He made 487 runs at an average of almost 38 this season.


Jordan Silk remained unbeaten 27 not out from 15 that featured one big hit into the Ladies Stand.

Then as they have done all season, the Sixers attack kept the run rate in check. The spin duo of Nathan Lyon (2-19), opening the attack and Stephen O’Keefe, 2-27 from three overs, were the stand outs.

O’Keefe claiming the crucial scalp of Glenn Maxwell for 5, while Lyon picked up Marcus Stoinis for 10 in the first over.


Paceman Josh Hazlewood also claimed 1-18 from three overs.

Scorecard here.