Cricket network logo

Henriques and Gardner among State Cricket Award winners

28 March 2020

Moises Henriques and Ashleigh Gardner.

Sixers BBL captain Moises Henriques and allrounder Ashleigh Gardner are among the Cricket Australia State Cricket Award winners for 2020.

Henriques shared the Marsh Sheffield Shield Player of the Year Award with former Sixer Nic Maddinson. Gardner was named the Lord’s Taverners Indigenous Player of the Year for a second time. 


Earlier this month, Gardner joined Alyssa Healy in the Australian team who defeated India in the Women’s T20 World Cup Final before 86,174 people at the MCG.




Sixers WBBL captain Ellyse Perry and Erin Burns were also part of that World Cup winning squad but missed the Final through injury. 


The last time Gardner received the Lord’s Taverners Indigenous Player of the Year Award was in 2015. 



Henriques, 33, not only led the Sixers to their second BBL title this season but was pivotal to NSW claiming the Sheffield Shield title, awarded to the Blues after nine rounds due to the ongoing coronavirus crisis. 


He scored 512 Shield runs at an average of 51.2 including two centuries and a highest score of 124.


Moises Henriques innings smashes eight sixes against the Melbourne Stars at the SCG


His top score came in partnership with good mate and fellow Sixer Steve Smith (106) at Drummoyne Oval against Tasmania. The pair shared a stand worth 197.


This coupled with 310 runs at 44.3 in the Marsh One-Day Cup and 267 for the Sixers at a strike rate nearing 150.



Gardner, 22, posted her first WNCL century and highest score in T20 Internationals, within two weeks of each other, in January and February.


She made 136 from 108 deliveries against Queensland for the NSW Breakers at Manuka Oval, Canberra.  


Then at Junction Oval in Melbourne, Gardner smashed 93 from 57 balls against India during game five of the T20 Tri-Series, also involving England.


The Lord 's Taverners Award recognises leading role models for Indigenous Australians in cricket.


Moises' insane ramping



2020 State Cricket Awards


Marsh Sheffield Shield Players of the Year - Moises Henriques (New South Wales) & Nic Maddinson (Victoria) 


Lords Taverners Indigenous Player of the Year – Ashleigh Gardner (Australia, New South Wales, Sydney Sixers)      


Spirit of Cricket Award (men’s) – Tasmania


Spirit of Cricket Award (women’s) – ACT, New South Wales & Tasmania 


Cricket Australia Umpire Award – Paul Wilson


Announced earlier in the season:


Marsh One Day Cup Players of the Year – Marnus Labuschagne (Queensland) & Usman Khawaja (Queensland) 


Women’s National Cricket League Player of the Year – Nicole Bolton (Western Australia)


KFC Big Bash League Player of the Year – Marcus Stoinis (Melbourne Stars)


rebel Women’s Big Bash League Player of the Year – Sophie Devine (Adelaide Strikers)