Cricket network logo

Perry warm's up for World Cup in style

15 June 2017

In Australia's first World Cup warm-up, Sixers WBBL captain Ellyse Perry hit a century against New Zealand.

Sixers WBBL Captain Ellyse Perry has warmed up for Australia’s ODI World Cup in spectacular style, smashing a century against New Zealand in an unofficial match in Southampton.

Fellow Sixers Alyssa Healy and Ashleigh Gardner were selected for the warm-up as the Australians batted first at Ageas Bowl’s nursery ground.

After Beth Mooney was dismissed, Perry came to the crease and built the Australian innings with Nicole Bolton and Elyse Villani.

Perry eventually hit a century before she was dismissed by Sophie Devine on 104. Her innings included 11 fours, 2 sixes and was off just 100 balls.

“It was a great hit out. It’s always awesome playing New Zealand," said Perry after the match.

"They’re a fantastic opposition for us and everyone got a chance out in the middle which we really needed after some great prep at home."

Healy also got an opportunity with the bat, making 25 off 30 balls while Gardner hit six runs before getting out to Anna Peterson.

Courtesy of Perry’s century, Australia were all out for 287 and bowled New Zealand out for 241 to claim a 46-run victory.

Perry also showed her all-round skills when she grabbed two Kiwi wickets, while Gardner worked some magic with the ball, snaring two wickets off her six overs.

After completing their stay in Southampton, the Australian team will head to Leicester for two more warm-up matches against South Africa and Pakistan before their 2017 World Cup defence begins against the West Indies on June 26.


Australian Squad:

Sarah Aley

Nicole Bolton

Alex Blackwell

Kristen Beams

Ashleigh Gardner

Rachael Haynes

Alyssa Healy

Jess Jonassen

Meg Lanning

Beth Mooney

Ellyse Perry

Megan Schutt

Belinda Vakarewa

Elyse Villani

Amanda-Jade Wellington


Australia's World Cup schedule:

June 26: Australia v West Indies, Taunton

June 29: Australia v Sri Lanka, Bristol

July 2: Australia v New Zealand, Bristol

July 5: Australia v Pakistan, Leicester

July 9: Australia v England, Bristol

July 12: Australia v India, Bristol

July 15: Australia v South Africa, Taunton

July 18: First semi-final, Bristol

July 20: Second semi-final, Derby

July 23: Final, Lord's

Top Stories