Cricket network logo

Six magenta players in CA's proposed contracted list

24 April 2017

Cricket Australia has confirmed it proposes to offer 33 national contracts to Australian cricketers for 2017-18.

Six magenta players from BBL|06 and WBBL|02 have been included in Cricket Australia’s proposed contracted player list for 2017-2018.

Of the 33 players in the proposed female and male lists, WBBL Sixers Captain Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy are in the female list, while Jackson Bird, Nathan Lyon, Josh Hazlewood and Mitchell Starc are in the male list.

An initial total of 20 men’s and 13 women’s contracts will form the Australian lists for the coming season, with state cricket associations being able to commence their list discussions. The total amount of contracted women, including state players, will increase from 98 players the past season to an expected 111 this coming season.

Players have gained selection for the lists on the basis of their performances over the past 12 months, with several new faces being proposed to enter the national set-up.

The offers of contract are intended to begin on 1 July 2017.

Commenting on the women’s offers, National Selector Shawn Flegler said:

“The Australian women’s team has an incredibly exciting yet challenging 12 months ahead of them, with an imminent 50-over World Cup followed by an historic Ashes series beginning in October.’’

“We’re really pleased with the calibre of players knocking on the door, with several having already made their international debuts last summer, and believe that these players have the ability and drive to continue their dominance as the best team in the world,’’ Mr Flegler said.

Commenting on the men’s offers, National Selector Trevor Hohns said:

“We have selected 20 players for this year’s contract list with a focus on players who we believe could play a part in an exciting 12 months of cricket, which includes the Ashes and an important away Test Series against South Africa.

“Consideration has also been given to some players who we believe could potentially play in all three formats for Australia.”

Under the ground breaking remuneration and benefits proposal made by Cricket Australia to the ACA in March, it is proposed that women players not selected in the initial group may, for the first time, receive an upgraded CA contract should they gain national selection during the year. To receive an upgraded contract, players are required to earn 12 upgrade points, which are awarded on the following basis: four points per Test appearance, two for an ODI and two for each T20 International.

State men players are also eligible to receive an upgraded contract, with players also required to earn 12 upgrade points on the following basis: five points for Test, two for an ODI and one point for a T20I.

Following the national contract offers, State and Territory Cricket Associations will now commence non-binding discussions, which will include communication of their intention to offer contracts to cricketers throughout Australia. These discussions will be finalised once a new MOU between CA and the ACA is in place. The new MOU is scheduled to be in place by 1 July.

CA Female Conract Offers for 2017-18:

Kristen Beams

Alex Blackwell

Nicole Bolton

Lauren Cheatle

Rachael Haynes

Alyssa Healy (Sydney Sixers)

Jess Jonassen

Meg Lanning

Beth Mooney

Ellyse Perry (Sydney Sixers)

Megan Schutt

Elyse Villani

Amanda-Jade Wellington


CA Male Contract Offers for 2017-18:

Ashton Agar

Jackson Bird (Sydney Sixers)

Hilton Cartwright

Pat Cummins

Aaron Finch

Peter Handscomb

Josh Hazlewood (Sydney Sixers)

Travis Head

Usman Khawaja

Nathan Lyon (Sydney Sixers)

Mitchell Marsh

Glenn Maxwell

James Pattinson

Matthew Renshaw

Steve Smith

Billy Stanlake

Mitchell Starc (Sydney Sixers)

Matthew Wade

David Warner

Adam Zampa

Top Stories