Cricket network logo

South Africans confirmed for World Cup tilt

24 May 2017

Dane Van Niekerk and Marizanne Kapp have been selected in South Africa's Women's World Cup squad.

Sydney Sixers WBBL|02 Champions Dane Van Niekerk and Marizanne Kapp are off to England and Wales for the 2017 Women's World Cup after their selection in the South African team.

Van Niekerk will captain her country at a 50-over World Cup for the first time, while Kapp is another mainstay of the national team set-up.

South Africa qualified for the Women's World Cup after making it to the final of the Qualifiers in February, where the Women's Proteas lost to India.

Coach Hilton Moreeng said he is satisfied with the squad selected and believes that they have the ability and capability to return home with the trophy, pointing out Captain Van Niekerk as key to their cause.

“This year’s squad, led by Van Niekerk has spent a lot of time together and we have a lot of game time under our belts,” Moreeng said.

“The balance in the side is just right and I know that the team can’t wait to get to England and test themselves against the world’s best sides."

Women's Proteas ICC Women’s World Cup squad: 

Dané van Niekerk (C)

Trisha Chetty

Moseline Daniels

Nadine de Klerk

Mignon du Preez

Shabnim Ismail

Ayabonga Khaka

Marizanne Kapp

Masabata Klaas

Lizelle Lee

Sune Luus

Raisibe Ntozakhe

Andrie Steyn

Chloe Tryon

Laura Wolvaardt

Top Stories