Cricket network logo

Sixers aim to keep perfect Gold Coast record

09 January 2021

The Sydney Sixers will be looking to maintain their perfect record at Metricon Stadium this season when they meet the Brisbane Heat on Sunday night.

Currently second on the Big Bash table with 21 points, the Sixers have won all three previous matches on the Gold Coast in 20/21.

And all three have been impressive victories, beginning on Boxing Day when the Sixers scored a mammoth 9-194 to overcome the Melbourne Stars by just one wicket with a ball to spare.

The next match in late December was also a nail bitter, with the Sixers making 8-169 to get over the Melbourne Renegades, also with just one ball to spare.

The third win was the most comfortable, cruising to a seven-wicket victory against the Adelaide Strikers with two overs in hand.

The Heat have played just one game at Metricon Stadium this season, winning a rain-marred match against the Stars last Thursday.

An improving Heat have won their last three matches over the past week or so, including beating the Sixers and top-placed Sydney Thunder at the Gabba.

The Sixers have named a 17-player squad for the match that will be trimmed to 13 players with the final 11 announced at the bat flip.

Of this squad, only Nick Bertus and Tom Rogers are yet to make their Sixers debut.

Star left arm pace bowler Ben Dwarshuis was not considered for selection after suffering a minor groin strain during the Sixers' match against the Scorchers in Perth on Wednesday.

Dwarshuis is aiming to be back on the field for the Sixers when they take on the Thunder in the Sydney Smash at Manuka Oval in the ACT on Wednesday.

#          Player Name     Last Name

32        Justin   Avendano

24        Jake      Ball

45        Nick      Bertus

33        Jackson Bird

26        Carlos   Brathwaite

54        Daniel   Christian

18        Jack      Edwards

16        Daniel   Hughes ©

50        Hayden Kerr

46        Ben      Manenti

72        Steve    O'Keefe

22        Josh      Philippe

7          Lloyd    Pope

6          Tom     Rogers

28        Gurinder Sandhu

14        Jordan  Silk

9          James   Vince