Cricket network logo

Squad named to face Stars at Hurstville

25 October 2019

The Sydney Sixers have announced a 13-player squad for tomorrow's clash with the Melbourne Stars at Hurstville Oval.

Sixers head coach Ben Sawyer has made just one change to the 13 who split their opening weekend of WBBL|05 with a win over Sydney Thunder and a loss to Brisbane Heat.

South African captain Dane Van Niekerk comes into the group, having arrived in Australia on Wednesday and will give the Sixers a welcome boost with bat and ball.

The experienced allrounder is one of the world's best players and beefs up the Sixers' middle order, while providing skipper Ellyse Perry another option via her dangerous leg spin.

International left arm fast bowler Lauren Cheatle was not considered for selection due to injury, with teen Emma Hughes at home in Dubbo completing her HSC.

WBBL Squad v Stars (26th Oct):
3. Sarah Aley
99. Alisha Bates
29. Erin Burns
18. Stella Campbell
7. Maddy Darke
6. Ashleigh Gardner
77. Alyssa Healy
14. Jodie Hicks
17. Marizanne Kapp
8. Ellyse Perry (c)
4. Hayley Silver-Holmes
2. Lauren Smith
23. Dane Van Niekerk

Match Details:
Who: Sydney Sixers vs Melbourne Stars
When: Saturday October 26, 1400 (Gates open 1330)
Where: Hurstville Oval

CLICK HERE to purchase tickets.