Cricket network logo

WBBL and BBL 2020/21 fixture release

15 July 2020

Sixers fans at the SCG for last season's Sydney Smash.

The 2020-21 rebel Women’s Big Bash League and KFC Big Bash League fixtures have been announced, with the Sixers to feature prominently in prime time during both the WBBL and BBL competitions.

Both leagues will feature full schedules and more matches than ever before to be televised live by broadcasters Seven and Foxtel.

A total of 26 rebel WBBL|06 matches – 23 regular season matches and all three finals – will be broadcast live on Seven and FOX SPORTS, three more than last season. The remaining 33 rebel WBBL|06 matches will be streamed live on the CA Live app, and Kayo Sports.

The Sixers will start the WBBL season in Brisbane against the Melbourne Renegades at Allan Border Field on Saturday 17 October with seven of the Sixers 14 matches broadcast on free-to-air.

A full 59-game schedule has been scheduled for the Women’s Big Bash League and is complemented by the introduction of a three-week, mid-season Sydney hub for all eight clubs.

In the BBL, the Sixers begin their title defence at home, at the SCG against the Hobart Hurricanes on 4 December, the same venue they claimed the BBL|09 trophy in February.

The Sixers will also return to Coffs Harbour after the enormous success of the inaugural regional fixture last season. The men in magenta take on the Brisbane Heat on Monday 4 January 2021.

In a further win for fans, KFC BBL|10 is scheduled to see 48 out of 56 regular season matches broadcast in prime time, seven more than last season, with a further four twilight matches. Every KFC BBL|10 match will again be broadcast live on Fox Cricket and Kayo Sports, with Seven to televise 45 matches.

The League opener is scheduled to be brought forward to December 3 with the Adelaide Strikers to host the Melbourne Renegades taking place after stumps on day one of the first Test between Australia and India at the Gabba.

Alistair Dobson, Cricket Australia Head of Big Bash Leagues, described the expanded broadcast presence as a win for supporters and a significant achievement against the backdrop of the challenging COVID-19 environment.

“As the BBL approaches its tenth season, the League, our Clubs and our Partners are doing everything possible to ensure that we are set and ready to go for a great Summer of Big Bash,” Dobson said.

“By sharing these schedules at this stage, we hope that our fans, Clubs, Players and Partners can all share in the excitement of the return of everyone’s favourite cricket competitions.

“While we know that the challenging, fast-changing coronavirus pandemic could ultimately mean revisions to the schedule, there is nonetheless a lot to like about the way both competitions are shaping up. It is our sincere hope that the WBBL|06 and KFC BBL|10 will go some way towards lifting the spirits of, and restoring a sense of normality to, the nation.

“Our Clubs should be commended for their determination and commitment to delivering a full 59-game season for the rebel WBBL|06.

“We’re delighted Seven and Foxtel will be showing 26 matches of the rebel Women’s Big Bash League live in the 2020-21 summer. The rebel WBBL is the world’s best cricket league for women and keeps getting better, which was reflected in a 21% increase in multichannel audiences last season.

“We’re also on track to hosting a fan-friendly KFC BBL|10 season that focuses on bringing high quality, entertaining cricket into Australian lounge rooms at prime time throughout the December-January period.

“As with all sporting competitions around the world, we must remain vigilant and agile in responding to the COVID-19 situation as it develops and we will continue to work with all relevant federal and state government agencies, biosecurity experts, venues, clubs, players, broadcast partners and our own internal teams to ensure a safe and successful summer.

“We’ll continue to act in accordance with public health advice and government protocols to ensure the safety of the public, players and support staff.”

Tickets and Memberships will be on sale in the coming months.

Sixers full fixture details for both rebel WBBL|06 and KFC BBL|10 are below:


Date Opponent Venue Time (AEDT) Broadcast
Sat 17 Oct Melbourne Renegades Allan Border Field 10.45am CA Live
Sun 18 Oct Brisbane Heat Allan Border Field 2.10pm Channel 7/Foxtel
Sat 24 Oct Perth Scorchers Tasmania 10.00am CA Live
Sun 25 Oct Hobart Hurricanes Tasmania 2.00pm CA Live
Thur 29 Oct Melbourne Stars Hurstville Oval 2.00pm CA Live
Sat 31 Oct Melbourne Renegades North Sydney Oval 7.05pm Channel 7/Foxtel
Sun 1 Nov Adelaide Strikers North Sydney Oval 1.45pm Channel 7/Foxtel
Sat 7 Nov Melbourne Stars North Sydney Oval 7.05pm Channel 7/Foxtel
Sun 8 Nov Sydney Thunder North Sydney Oval 1.45pm Channel 7/Foxtel
Sat 14 Nov Brisbane Heat North Sydney Oval 7.05pm Channel 7/Foxtel
Sun 15 Nov Sydney Thunder North Sydney Oval 1.45pm Channel 7/Foxtel
Thur 19 Nov Hobart Hurricanes CitiPower Centre 2.00pm CA Live
Sat 21 Nov Adelaide Strikers Melbourne 2.00pm CA Live
Sund 22 Nov Perth Scorchers Melbourne 2.00pm CA Live


Date Opponent Venue Time (AEDT) Broadcast
Fri 4 Dec Hobart Hurricanes SCG 7:15PM Channel 7/ Foxtel
Sun 6 Dec Perth Scorchers Optus Stadium 7:15PM Channel 7/ Foxtel
Wed 9 Dec Brisbane Heat Metricon Stadium 7:15PM Channel 7/ Foxtel
Sat 19 Dec Melbourne Renegades SCG 5:05PM Foxtel
Tues 22 Dec Adelaide Strikers Adelaide Oval 7:15PM Channel 7/ Foxtel
Sun 27 Dec Melbourne Stars SCG 7:15PM Channel 7/ Foxtel
Sat 2 Jan Hobart Hurricanes Blundstone Arena 5:05PM Foxtel
Mon 4 Jan Brisbane Heat C.ex Coffs International Stadium 7:15PM Channel 7/ Foxtel
Thur 7 Jan Melbourne Stars MCG 6:15PM Foxtel
Sat 9 Jan Sydney Thunder Sydney Showground Stadium 5:05PM Foxtel
Mon 11 Jan Perth Scorchers SCG 7:15PM Channel 7/ Foxtel
Tues 19 Jan Adelaide Strikers SCG 7:15PM Channel 7/ Foxtel
Sat 23 Jan Melbourne Renegades GMHBA Stadium 6:40PM Channel 7/ Foxtel
Mon 25 Jan Sydney Thunder SCG 7:15PM Channel 7/ Foxtel