Cricket network logo

Sixers duo named for rebel WBBL exhibition matches

28 October 2019

Sixers teenage fast bowler Stella Campbell.

Sydney Sixers bowlers Stella Campbell and Emma Hughes have been named by Cricket Australia’s Youth Selection Panel (YSP) to take part in this season’s under-19 rebel Women’s Big Bash League (WBBL) Exhibition matches on Saturday 23 and Sunday 24 November at Phillip Oval, Canberra.

The best under-19 players from across the country will compete in three Twenty20 fixtures across the two days, representing either the Lanning or Perry XI, with the Sixers’ pair picked in the Perry squad.

It continues a big month for Campbell, who made her starting XI debut for the Sixers in their WBBL|05 season opener on October 18, and Hughes, who is currently managing her Sixers commitments while completing her HSC at home in Dubbo.

Plotting their downfall for the exhibition games will be Sixers assistant coach Leah Poulton, who has been named as an assistant for the Lanning XI.

Poulton, who combines her Sixers duties with her role as Cricket Australia Female High Performance Coach, said the games were an important developmental tool.

“Now in its third year, these matches continue to play in important role in the development of the best underage talent in the country,” Poulton said.

“The female player pathway is the strongest it has even been, and these matches certainly contribute to that along with regular overseas tours for the Australia Under 19 side.

“Just recently we’ve seen how well players such as Stella Campbell, (Sydney Thunder’s) Phoebe Litchfield  and (Melbourne Stars’) Tess Flintoff have done stepping up to the WBBL which is the leading women’s domestic cricket league in the world, so it’s evident that the pathway is doing what its designed to do.

“It’s a really important period coming up for this age group with the ICC recently confirming an Under 19 World Cup and another Australia Under 19 Tour scheduled for next year. The players will definitely be out to impress.”

Sixers non-contracted development player Isabelle Arafas was named in the Lanning XI.

Selection was completed in conjunction with WBBL clubs, with players to wear the colours of their affiliated WBBL clubs during the matches. A total of nine contracted WBBL players have been named.

Lanning XI (WBBL Affiliated Club)

1. Isabelle Arafas

2. Jade Allen (Sydney Thunder)

3. Darcie Brown* (Adelaide Strikers)

4. Emma de Broughe (Adelaide Strikers)

5. Tess Flintoff* (Melbourne Stars)

6. Georgia Gall (Melbourne Renegades)

7. Sienna Ginger (Brisbane Heat)

8. Molly Healy (Perth Scorchers)

9. Ruth Johnston (Brisbane Heat)

10. Charli Knott* (Brisbane Heat)

11. Caitlin Mair (Brisbane Heat)

12. Kate Peterson* (Sydney Thunder)

Coach: Jodie Fields

Assistant Coach: Leah Poulton

Perry XI  (WBBL Affiliated Club)

1. Zoe Britcliffe (Perth Scorchers)

2. Lucy Cripps* (Melbourne Stars)

3. Stella Campbell* (Sydney Sixers)

4. Hannah Darlington* (Sydney Thunder)

5. Molly Godsell (Sydney Thunder)

6. Ella Hayward (Melbourne Renegades)

7. Emma Hughes* (Sydney Sixers)

8. Phoebe Litchfield* (Sydney Thunder)

9. Ella Marsh (Hobart Hurricanes)

10. Lilly Mills* (Brisbane Heat)

11. Courtney Sippel* (Brisbane Heat)

12. Amy Smith (Hobart Hurricanes)

Coach: Shelley Nitschke

Assistant Coach: Jono Dean

*WBBL contracted player


Saturday 23 November

9:30am: WBBL Exhibition Match 1 – Lanning XI v Perry XI, Phillip Oval, Canberra

2pm: WBBL Exhibition Match 2 – Lanning XI v Perry XI, Phillip Oval, Canberra

Sunday 24 November

9am: WBBL Exhibition Match 3 – Lanning XI v Perry XI, Phillip Oval, Canberra