Cricket network logo

Thornton selected in CA National Performance Squad

19 April 2017

Thornton and Maladay in 18-man squad

Sydney Sixers Development Rookie and BBL|06 debutant Henry Thornton has been selected for Cricket Australia’s 18-man National Performance Squad (NPS).

The squad will gather in Brisbane for three months and train under the program’s Head Coach Troy Cooley and Assistant Coaches Matthew Elliott and Ryan Harris. They will also tour India as part of the program that starts in May.

Thornton, who is one of the NSW Blues Rookies, was drafted into the squad for Mitchell Starc after originally being named as a Development Rookie, and made his debut on 3 January against the Brisbane Heat at the Gabba. In that match he took his first wicket at senior level, trapping opening Jimmy Pierson LBW in his third over.

Having previously played for the Australian Under 19’s squad, where he took 13 wickets at 13.46 in a tour of England over the 2015/2016 season, Thornton’s selection sees him rewarded for a summer where he has come of age.

Joining Thornton in the NPS is his Sixers Academy team mate Lewin Maladay, who has recently featured in the Australian Under 19’s series in Hobart. Maladay featured in all four fixtures against Sri Lanka, including three One Day-ers and one Three Day match. Maladay, who plays for University of New South Wales in the Sydney Premier Cricket tournament, was selected for the Sixers Academy mid last year and worked with Sixers coaches Greg Shipperd and Geoff Lawson, as well as Acamdey Head Coach Gavan Twining.

The program will wrap up with a competition phase, with the National Performance Squad to play a match against the National Indigenous Squad on 28 August, Papua New Guinea on 1 September and a number of matches against State sides during September.

The full squad list is:

Alex Carey, SA

Jackson Coleman, VIC

Michael Cormack, SA

Brendan Doggett, QLD

Jake Doran, TAS

Daniel Fallins, NSW

Jordan Gauci, NSW

Ryan Gibson, NSW

Ryan Hadley, NSW

Josh Inglis, WA

Marcus Labuschagne, QLD

Lewin Maladay, NSW

Ben McDermott, TAS

Tom O’Donnell, VIC

Ben Pengelley, SA

Henry Thornton, NSW

Param Uppal, NSW

Mac Wright, TAS

Top Stories