Cricket network logo

How The Game Works

How The Game Works

The primary objective of the game of cricket is to score runs and take wickets, T20 matches are played by two teams of 11 players and take three hours from start to finish.
Each team gets the chance to bat and bowl. A coin toss at the start of the match determines which team bats first. Once this team completes their innings (20 overs) the teams swap roles. Every member of the team can bat and bowl though most players specialise in one or the other.
Both teams have 120 balls to score as many runs as they can, these balls are grouped into 20 lots of six ball ‘overs’. These 20 overs are grouped into an innings and each team gets an innings, so two innings make up a match.

The aim of the bowler (and the fielding team in general) is to take wickets. This means ending the innings of one of the batters.
There are 10 ways a batter can ‘get out’ (or ‘lose his wicket’) in cricket but a few of them are very uncommon, so here we’ll focus on the five regular ‘modes of dismissal’.

The team’s captain distributes the players around the field. Two positions are set – the bowler and the wicketkeeper. The other nine fielders can be placed wherever the captain determines. During the first six overs only two fielders are allowed in the outfield with the rest remaining in the infield. At the end of the first six overs another three players can head out into the outfield if the captain wishes. After the batter hits the ball, the fielders will run, dive, catch and block the ball to stop it from hitting the boundary; they’ll also try to catch the ball if the batter hits it into the air.

BBL Match Experience

learn more