Responsive image



All you need to know about the Women's Big Bash League side the Sydney Sixers

The Women's Big Bash League is back!

The WBBL is back for it's second season and the Sydney Sixers will be looking to go one better this summer. For those who are new to the WBBL, here's a breakdown of the tournament.


With eight teams, the WBBL follows a similar format to the men's. The major differences are that, instead of only eight regular season matches, each WBBL side will take on each other twice, with 14 matches to be played per side.

The matches are held over an eight week period, with a massive opening weekend kicking off in Sydney on December 10 and 11. Most matches will be played over weekends, however over the Christmas and New Year period there will be a number of games played at major and local grounds.


Channel Ten have recommitted to the WBBL and this year will increase their broadcast from 10 matches to 12. They will be played on the main channel when possible, with the remaining games on One HD. 

While the TV games are still being decided upon, the Sixers will feature in two "TV" games in the home and away season.


The squad list for WBBL has been increased to 15 for WBBL|02. Like the BBL, International players can be signed by each franchise, meaning the tournament will feature not only the best women from Australia, but the best from around the globe.

To ensure an even spread of talent, each club is permitted to sign up to five players who are either a) Southern Stars representatives from the last three years, or b) overseas players.

The Sixers squad members who make up these marquee signings include Ellyse Perry and Alyssa Healy, with more announcements to be made in the coming months.


The best thing about the WBBL is that tickets are absolutely free! We want to encourage as many people as possible to get out and enjoy the exciting action. The only two matches which will require tickets are the two double-header matches at the SCG, but your ticket to the WBBL will also get you in to see the Men's game as well which adds to the great value offering.

Where can I watch a match this year?

The WBBL will be played at suburban grounds across Sydney with the Sixers regions. We have home matches scheduled for Hurstville Oval and North Sydney Oval.

You can check out the full fixture list for the Sixers right here.