Cheatle return highlights four Sixers in AUS Women's squad

In-form fast bowler Lauren Cheatle will join three Sydney Sixers teammates named by the National Selection Panel (NSP) in a 16-player women’s squad for the CommBank Tour of India in December/January. 

Australia plays one Test, three One-Day Internationals and three T20 Internationals against India in a multi-format series across two venues in Mumbai over the Christmas and New Year period. 

Cheatle, who made her international debut in 2016 as a 17-year-old, returns to an Australian squad for the first time since March 2019 on the back of a stellar Weber WBBL campaign with the Sydney Sixers.

The left armer, who has been selected for the Test and ODI components of the tour, joins Sixers teammates Ellyse Perry, Ash Gardner and Alyssa Healy.

After several injury-plagued seasons, which included four shoulder reconstructions in five years, Cheatle has led the Sydney Sixers bowling unit with 19 wickets through ten Weber Women’s Big Bash League matches this season. 

Cheatle’s WBBL form follows a successful tour of England with Australia A in June, where she took 11 wickets across five matches. 

Following Meg Lanning’s retirement from international cricket, an ongoing Australian Women’s Captain will be announced ahead of the tour. 

CA’s Head of Performance (Women’s Cricket) and National Selector, Shawn Flegler said: 

“A multi-format series against India in India is exciting and presents a huge challenge for our group. 

“Most of our players, through last December’s bilateral series or the WPL, have played cricket in Mumbai over the past 12 months and have experienced the conditions. 

“We’ll have an opportunity to acclimatise to the conditions and our preparation in Mumbai will include a warm-up match against a local opposition. 

“Lauren Cheatle has overcome significant injury setbacks and thoroughly deserves her place in the squad through her performances over the past six months. 

“Lauren has playing experience in India and provides another fast-bowling option, particularly in regard to the Test match which is the primary format she has been selected for. 

“At this stage, we’re planning for Lauren to return to Australia ahead of the T20Is to play WNCL.

“Darcie Brown missed the last two ODIs against the West Indies with a hamstring injury but is back bowling and is on track to be available for Test selection. 

“Alyssa Healy’s hand is healing but remains in a splint and our medical team are continuing to monitor her recovery closely. We’re obviously very hopeful she will be available for the Test, but those decisions are still a while away. 

“We have commenced the process to confirm an ongoing Captain appointment, which will be confirmed closer to the tour.” 

Every match of Australia’s CommBank Tour of India will be broadcast live on Kayo Sports and Foxtel. 


Australian Women’s squad for the CommBank Tour of India 
Darcie Brown (SA / Adelaide Strikers / Northern Districts CC) 
Lauren Cheatle (NSW / Sydney Sixers / Campbelltown Camden District CC)* 
Heather Graham (TAS / Hobart Hurricanes / Clarence District CC) 
Ashleigh Gardner (NSW / Sydney Sixers / Bankstown CC) 
Kim Garth (VIC / Melbourne Stars / Dandenong CC) 
Grace Harris (QLD / Brisbane Heat / Western Suburbs CC)**
Alyssa Healy (NSW / Sydney Sixers / Sydney CC) 
Jess Jonassen (QLD / Brisbane Heat / Valley Districts CC) 
Alana King (WA / Perth Scorchers / Midland Guildford CC) 
Phoebe Litchfield (NSW / Sydney Thunder / Sydney University CC) 
Tahlia McGrath (SA / Adelaide Strikers / Glenelg CC) 
Beth Mooney (WA / Perth Scorchers / Sandgate-Redcliffe CC) 
Ellyse Perry (VIC / Sydney Sixers / Dandenong CC) 
Megan Schutt (SA / Adelaide Strikers / Sturt CC) 
Annabel Sutherland (VIC / Melbourne Stars / Prahran CC) 
Georgia Wareham (VIC / Melbourne Renegades / Essendon Maribyrnong Park CC) 

*Test and ODIs



21 Dec – 24 Dec: Test match | Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 

28 Dec: First ODI | Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 

30 Dec: Second ODI | Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 

2 Jan: Third ODI | Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai 

5 Jan: First T20I | DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai 

7 Jan: Second T20I | DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai 

9 Jan: Third T20I | DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai  

Principal Partners

Major Partners