Sixers’ Ellyse Perry, Ash Gardner and Mitch Starc make ICC’s Team of the Year

Sydney Sixers’ stars named in ICC Men’s Test, Women’s ODI and T20 Teams of the Year. 

The International Cricket Council (ICC) today completed announcements of the five ICC Teams of the Year across formats for men and women as part of the ICC Awards 2023. 

 The announcement of the five teams - the ICC Men’s and Women’s T20I Teams of the Year, the ICC Men’s and Women’s ODI Teams of the Year and the ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year – were made in a staggered manner over Monday and Tuesday and feature players from 11 teams selected on the basis of international performances through the calendar year. 


ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year – Starc 

Mitchell Starc has made the Test team of the year due to his skills and returns with ball in hand, that have not only been recognised by his inclusion in the team, but also as he sits 9th in the world in the current rankings.  

Starc was named Sixers’ CA marquee supplementary player earlier this season.  


ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year - FULL LIST: Usman Khawaja (Aus), Dimuth Karunaratne (SL), Kane Williamson (NZ), Joe Root (Eng), Travis Head (Aus), Ravindra Jadeja (Ind), Alex Carey (WK, Aus), Pat Cummins (Capt, Aus), R Ashwin (Ind), Mitchell Starc (Aus), Stuart Broad (Eng). 


ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year – Gardner, Perry 

Sixers captain, Ellyse Perry made the team after scoring over 400 runs during the calendar year while Ash Gardner made it on the strength of performances with both bat and ball. 



ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year – FULL LIST: Phoebe Litchfield (Aus), Chamari Athapaththu (Capt, SL), Ellyse Perry (Aus), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Beth Mooney (WK, Aus), Nat Sciver-Brunt (Eng), Ash Gardner (Aus), Annabel Sutherland (Aus), Nadine de Klerk (SA), Lea Tahuhu (NZ), Nahida Akter (Ban). 


Women’s T20I Team of the Year – Gardner, Perry 

Ash Gardner bowling in the T20 format is hard to overlook and, along with the Ellyse Perry, both make the TOTY from their 2023 performances.  

They contributed to Australia’s extremely successful 2023, winning the ICC T20 World Cup and multi-format series against India and West Indies.  


Women’s T20I Team of the Year – FULL LIST:Chamari Athapaththu (Capt, SL), Beth Mooney (WK, Aus), Laura Wolvaardt (SA), Hayley Matthews (WI), Nat Sciver-Brunt (Eng), Amelia Kerr (NZ), Ellyse Perry (Aus), Ash Gardner (Aus), Deepti Sharma (Ind), Sophie Ecclestone (Eng), Megan Schutt (Aus). 


Principal Partners

Major Partners