Sean Abbott named in Australia’s Dettol T20I West Indies Series

Sydney Sixers’ Sean Abbott will continue his T20 cricket this summer having been named in the 14-player Australia squad taking on the West Indies kick starting tomorrow.  

The National Selection Panel (NSP) has named the following men’s 14-player squad for the Dettol T20 Series: 



Mitchell Marsh (Perth Scorchers/Fremantle Cricket Club) (c) 

Sean Abbott (Sydney Sixers/Parramatta District Cricket Club) 

Jason Behrendorff (Perth Scorchers/ Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club) 

Tim David (Hobart Hurricanes/Claremont-Nedlands Cricket Club) 

Nathan Ellis (Hobart Hurricanes/ Lindisfarne Cricket Club) 

Josh Hazlewood (NSW/St George Cricket Club) 

Travis Head (Adelaide Strikers/Tea Tree Gully Cricket Club) 

Josh Inglis (Perth Scorchers/Joondalup Cricket Club)  

Glenn Maxwell (Melbourne Stars/Fitzroy Doncaster Cricket Club) 

Matt Short (Adelaide Strikers/Northcote Cricket Club) 

Marcus Stoinis (Melbourne Stars/Subiaco Floreat Cricket Club)  

Matthew Wade (Hobart Hurricanes/Clarence Cricket Club)  

David Warner (Sydney Thunder/Randwick Petersham Cricket Club)  

Adam Zampa (Melbourne Renegades/Sutherland Cricket Club) 

Pat Cummins and Mitchell Starc are being managed for this series to prepare for the tour to New Zealand. Cummins, Starc and Steve Smith are likely to return for the T20 Series in New Zealand. 

David Warner and Josh Hazlewood return along with Mitch Marsh as captain of the squad. 

NSP Chair of Selectors George Bailey said: “We see these matches as an opportunity to narrow down on those who may be part of the T20 World Cup squad later this year. 

“There are a further three T20 internationals in New Zealand following this West Indies Series where we will continue to build towards the T20WC as required. 

“It is likely we will use the block of six games to provide opportunity to players in some different roles and positions.  

“We will then be keeping a close eye on the IPL before choosing a World Cup squad.” 

Principal Partners

Major Partners