Perry and Dwarshuis shine as Sixers’ best

Foundation WBBL skipper Ellyse Perry and evergreen speedster Ben Dwarshuis have claimed the major Sydney Sixers awards at the 22nd Annual CNSW Awards night at the SCG.

Perry capped a remarkable individual season with the WBBL Player of the Tournament award, while Dwarshuis was named the club’s BBL player of the year as the Sixers charged all the way to the KFC BBL|13 Final.

Perry edged out fellow international representatives, Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner and Chloe Tryon, while Dwarshuis got the nod ahead of his captain Moises Henriques and veteran batters Daniel Hughes and James Vince.

Leading from the front, Perry returned to the top of the order for the Sixers, ending the season as the fourth leading run-scorer in the WBBL and the best for the Sixers with 496 runs, to go with 13 wickets.

That haul included then career-best T20 bowling figures of 5-22 against the Melbourne Renegades, when she was back in the attack for the first time since injuring her knee while batting against Ireland in July.

Dwarshuis was the Sixers’ leading wicket taker for the summer, snaring 17 scalps at an economy rate of 7.04 and with an average of 16.7. In the Qualifier Final against the Brisbane Heat on the Gold Coast, Dwarshuis was named player of the match for his stunning 5-21.

Joining Perry and Dwarshuis as winners on the night were BBL stars Daniel Hughes and Jack Edwards. Hughes took out the Michael Bevan One-Day Cup Player of the Tournament award for the second year on the trot, while Edwards capped a ‘coming of age’ season winning the coveted Steve Waugh Medal as the state’s men’s domestic player of the year.

The evening also featured a celebration marking the retirement of Sixers great Stephen O’Keefe and Henriques’ achievement of becoming the first skipper in BBL history to captain his club on 100 occasions.

General Manager of the Sydney Sixers, Rachael Haynes congratulated Perry and Dwarshuis on their achievements.

“We have two exceptionally deserving winners this year in Ellyse and Ben, and we congratulate them both on their awards.

“Ellyse demonstrated once again this season why she is one of the best players in the world. She showed great resolve in a testing year for our WBBL side and led from the front, as she so often does.

“Now into his tenth season with the club, Ben has become one of the heart and soul members of the Sixers. The performances that he was able to produce this year under challenging circumstances are a true testament to his character.

“Congratulations also to Daniel and Jack on their successful One-Day Cup and Sheffield Shield campaigns. They are both valued members of our club and we’re very proud of their achievements throughout the domestic summer.”

22nd Cricket NSW Annual Awards – Sydney Sixers Winners and Finalists

Sydney Sixers WBBL Player of the Tournament

Winner: Ellyse Perry

Finalists: Lauren Cheatle, Ashleigh Gardner, Ellyse Perry, Chloe Tryon

Sydney Sixers BBL Player of the Tournament

Winner: Ben Dwarshuis

Finalists: Ben Dwarshuis, Moises Henriques, Daniel Hughes, James Vince

Principal Partners

Major Partners